Browse other articles

You did it! INCEPTION book successfully reach the goal at Kickstarter

You did it! INCEPTION book successfully reach the goal at Kickstarter


For the first time in history, 111 driving forces in architecture from 29 countries united into a unique collaborative experimental project by creating a magnificent collection of artworks. Each contribution is inspired by the previous work.



How does inspiration move in the atmosphere? How do we inspire each other? And how does this inspiration change through each person’s unique experience? To find out, we set an experiment by tasking an architect to find inspiration in Theo van Doesburg’s painting “The Rhythm of a Russian Dance” (1918), and then passed his work to other architects, growing into a web of conversation, interplay, and inspiration, a dance all on its own. Personal statements by the architects themselves frame the content of the book, allowing immersion into inspirational impulses essential to creative work processes.


Designer Anna Butele instigated the autocatalytic process for 111 with the painting  “The Rhythm of a Russian Dance” by Theo Van Doesburg. Butele then invited architect Gary Bates (Space Group) to create a work inspired by the painting, who subsequently submitted his work to three architectural thinkers of his choosing, serving as a source of inspiration for them and continuing the process.


The project quickly grew into an astonishing global level, encompassing architects from 29 countries and 5 continents, impressively including 111 participants widely known in the field of architecture:

Ada Tolla and Giuseppe Lignano (LOT-EK), Adrien Verschuere (Baukunst), Alexander Savvich Brodsky (Alexander Brodksy), Alexandre Loureiro (Alexandre Loureiro), Alvaro Puntoni (Gruposp), Andra Matin (Andra Matin), Anna Puigjaner (MAIO), Anne Holtrop (Anne Holtrop), Anton Garcia Abril (Ensamble), Armando Ruinelli (Armando Ruinelli), Arno Brandlhuber (Brandlhuber+), Asli Cicek (Asli Cicek), Barbara Bestor (Barbas Lopes), Bet Capdeferro & Ramon Bosch (Bosch Capdeferro Studio), Bettina Gotz (ARTEC), Bijoy Jain (Studio Mumbai), Bostjan Vuga (Sadar + Vuga), Carla Juacaba (Carla Juacaba Arquiteta), Charlotte Truwant and Dries Rodet (truwant + rodet), Christian Kerez (Christian Kerez), Clemens Bortolotti (Riccione), Daniel Norell (Norell/Rodhe), David Kohn (David Kohn), Derek Dellekamp (Dellekamp Architects), Dieter Dietz (Dieter Dietz), Do Ho Suh (Studio Do Ho Suh), E.V. Day (E.V. Day Studio), Ferda Kolatan (SU11),  Filipe Madeira (FMVS), Florencia Pita (Pita & Bloom), Francisco Cifuentes (Aulets), Frank Barkow (Barkow Leibinger), Freek Persyn (51n4e), Gary Bates (Space Group), Pieterjan Gijs (Gijs Van Vaerenbergh), Hernan Diaz Alonso (Xefirotarch), James Shen (People’s Architecture Office), Jan De Vylder (Architecten De Vylder Vinck Taillieu), Jan Edler (realities:united), Jan Olav Jensen (Jensen & Skodvin), Jean Pierre Crousse (Barclay & Crousse), Jennifer Bonner (MALL), Jing Liu (SO-IL), Job Floris (Monadnock), Johannes Kaferstein (Kaeferstein & Meister), Johannes Robbrecht (Robbrecht en Daem), Jonathan Sergison (Sergison Bates architekten), Junya Ishigami (Ishigami + Associates), Juergen Mayer H. (J.MAYER.H), Kivi Sotamaa (Sotamaa), Leonid Slonimskiy (KOSMOS), Luis Callejas (LCLA), Manuel Aires Mateus (Aires Mateus e Associados), Marcelyn Gow (servolos angeles), Marie-Jose Van Hee (MJOSEVANHEE), Marina Tabassum (Marina Tabassum Architects), Mark Foster Gage (Mark Foster Gage Architects), Mark Lee (Johnston Marklee), Mauricio Rocha (Taller | Mauricio Rocha + Gabriela Carrillo), Michael Meredith (MOS Architects), Michael Young (Young – Ayata), Minsuk Cho (Mass Studies), Moon Hoon (Moon Hoon), Nader Tehrani (NADAAA), Neil M. Denari (NMDA), Neyran Turan (NEME STUDIO), Niall McLaughlin (McLaughlin Architects), Niklaus Graber (Graber & Steiger), Oana Stanescu (Oana Stănescu Design Studio), Patricia Barbas (Barbas Lopes), Paula Santos (Paula Santos Arquitectura), Paulo Providencia (Paulo Providencia), Peter Stutchbury (Peter Stutchbury), Rainer Koeberl (Rainer Koeberl Architekt), Renato Rizzi (Renato Rizzi), Ricardo Bak Gordon (Bak Gordon), Ricardo Flores (Flores & Prats), Rozana Montiel (Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura), Rui Mendes (Atelier Rui Mendes), Sam Chermayeff (Sam Chermayeff), Sam Jacob (Sam Jacob Studio), Sami Rintala (Rintala Eggertsson Architects), Sheila O’Donnell and John Tuomey (O’Donnell + Tuomey), Simon Hartmann (HHF Architekten), Sou Fujimoto (Sou Fujimoto Architects), Stephanie Bru and Alexandre Theriot (Bruther), Susanne Fritzer (Susanne Fritz Architekten), Tatiana Bilbao (Tatiana Bilbao Estudio), Thomas Mennel (Memux), Tod Williams and Billie Tsien (Tod Williams / Billie Tsien), Tom de Paor (dePaor), Tom Emerson (6a architects), Tom Wiscombe (Tom Wiscombe), Toni Girones (Toni Girones), Tuomas Toivonen (NOW OFFICE), Ulrika Karlsson (Brrum and Servo Stockholm), Volkan Alkanoglu (Volkan Alkanoglu Design), Volker Giencke (Volker Giencke and Company), Walter Angonese (Angonese Walter Architekt), William O’Brien (WOJR), Winka Dubbeldam (Archi-Tectonics), Zhao Yang (Zhaoyang Architects).

Paperback-Book-Mockup-vol-2 2_INCEPTION Paperback-Book-Mockup-vol-2 Andra Matin

Depending on the input and personal experience, the contributions change and shift, often in opposite directions: from rational to irrational, interior to exterior, personal to public, local to global, random to planned, from marginal to central, or even from submissive to dominating. In so, the contributions highlight the architect’s social responsibility, inherent in designing the built environment. This collection of works underlines the unique international features of the book, which reflect specific characteristics of thinking of territorial, national and mental nature, and the global view to architectural and other processes, that unites the architects.

Let's start a new project together!

Contact us